ICC cricket world cup 2019 fixtures | date | venue | schedule | matches | tickets

ICC cricket world cup 2019 fixtures | date | venue | schedule | matches | tickets.The final will take place at Lords, while the remaining matches will take place all over the United Kingdom.

Cricket world cup 2019 the eleven venues that will host the tournament are Lord’s, the Oval, Edgbaston, Trent Bridge, Headingley, Old Trafford, Taunton, Bristol, Chester-le-Street, Southampton and Cardiff.

The first match of the tournament will take place on May 30 at The Oval in London between hosts England and South Africa.

The Indian cricket team begin their campaign against South Africa on June 5 in Southampton. The reason for a delayed start for them is due to a request from the BCCI for a 15 day window between the IPL and an international match. Their much-awaited clash against rivals Pakistan will take place on June 16 at Old Trafford in Manchester.

There will be seven day-night matches throughout the tournament, with Australia playing the first one against Afghanistan in Bristol on June 2.

The round-robin stage will end on July 6 and the semi-finals begin on July 9.


England and Wales will play host to 2019 world cup after winning the rights over a decade ago. The hosting rights to 2011, 2015 and 2019 world were awarded simultaneously in 2006. Initially, England and Wales put in a joint bid for the 2015 world cup. However, after Australia was beaten out by a joint Asian bid for the 2011 tournament they were offered the hosting rights in 2015. England and Wales were guaranteed the rights to 2019 if they agreed to withdraw their 2015 bid, which they promptly did. England was also granted the rights to the first ever T20 world cup in 2007 at the same time. The cricket tournament was originally going to be an invitational but after all twelve full and provisional members accepted the invitation the ICC granted it official status.

History of the Cricket World Cup

The first world cup was held in 1975 just four years after one day cricket took the world by storm. It was the ICC’s official response to the ‘World series of cricket’ Phenomenon which was proving incredibly popular with fans. In the last 40 years, the tournament has been held all over the cricketing world and has been won by teams from every corner of the globe. The tournament in 2019 will be the twelfth time the competition has been played and the fifth time it has been played in the UK. England and Wales have previously hosted in 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999.

Qualification for the 2019 Cricket World Cup

Only 10 teams will qualify for the 2019 world cup after a decision was taken to shrink the size of the tournament. In 2011 and in 2015 the tournament had 14 teams but ICC have decided few nations will make for a better competition. England will qualify automatically because they are hosting the tournament, as will the top seven one day international nations according to the latest ICC rankings 6 months prior to the tournament.

However, that leaves only two spots for the remaining test playing nations and affiliate members of the ICC. Those places have been taken by Afghanistan and West Indies at a qualifying tournament which was held in Bangladesh in March 2018. This tournament included the remaining four teams that failed to make the top seven one day international spots plus the top four teams from the Cricket World League Championships.

Teams Qualified for the 2019 Cricket World Cup

Automatically Qualifier

  • England


Current qualifiers based on current ICC One Day International rankings

  • Australia
  • South Africa
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • Sri Lanka
  • Bangladesh
  • Pakistan


Participants in the 2018 World Cup qualification tournament

  • West Indies
  • Zimbabwe
  • Afghanistan
  • Ireland
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Netherlands
  • Hong Kong
  • Scotland


ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Betting Odds


In the past, a variety of formats have been used but the reduced number of teams this year means that the format will be much simpler than in previous years. In 2018 there will only be one central group consisting of all 10 teams. In this group stage, every nation will play each other once meaning that there will be a total of 45 group games before the finals stage. Because of this extended group phase, the quarterfinals have been abolished and the top 4 teams will instead progress directly to the semi-finals with the remaining 6 nations knocked out of the tournament. The winners of each respective semi will progress to the final and the winner of that match will be declared world champion.


Kolkata: India will play their nine round robin league matches of the 2019 ICC World Cup at six different venues after starting their campaign against South Africa at Southampton on 5 June.

India will play two games each at Southampton (SA, Afghanistan), Birmingham (England and Bangladesh) and Manchester (Pakistan and West Indies) respectively.

They will play a game each at Oval (Australia), Nottingham (New Zealand) and Leeds (Sri Lanka).

India’s fixtures:

5 June: South Africa (Southampton)

9 June: Australia (Oval)

13 June: New Zealand (Nottingham)

16 June: Pakistan (Manchester)

22 June: Afghanistan (Southampton)

27 June: West Indies (Manchester)

30 June: England (Birmingham)

2 July: Bangladesh (Birmingham)

6 July: Sri Lanka (Leeds)

9 July: 1st Semi final (Manchester)

11 July: 2nd Semi final (Birmingham)

14 July: Final (Lords).

the ICC has decided to grant T20 International status to all its existing 104 members in a bid to popularize the game across the globe. The move will effectively mean that a T20 match between Argentina and Papua New Guinea will have international status from now on.


The ICC Board at its quarterly meeting decided that, “New minimum standards will be introduced making it as easy as possible for members to play international cricket in a sustainable and affordable way.” All member women’s teams will be awarded T20I status on July 1, 2018 whilst all member men’s teams will be awarded T20I status on January 1, 2019 following the cut-off point for qualification to the ICC World T20 2020.


Rankings for women and men will be introduced in October 2018 and May 2019 respectively. Following are some of key points that have been discussed: FICA report that says large number of players turning T20 freelancers:


The ICC Board received a presentation around regulations and sanctioning of events including domestic T20 leagues and player release (mulling cap on a player on the number of leagues he can take part). Election of Chairman of ICC: The Board agreed the process by which the ICC Chairman will be elected for the next two years from June when current Chairman Shashank Manohar’s first two-year term expires.


Players’ Concussion (Post Phill Hughes’ death and other on field accidents): New concussion guidelines, which had been developed by the ICC Medical Advisory Committee were adopted by the Board. The protocols are simplified, more cricket specific and in line with the consensus statement on concussion in sport.


Nepal: A recent Extraordinary General Meeting of Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) adopted a revised constitution that had been developed by an Advisory Group comprising of stakeholders in cricket in Nepal. The next step towards reinstatement is for CAN to hold elections under new constitution.


Cricket Committee: The Board ratified the appointment of Belinda Clark of Australia as the Women’s Committee representative on the Cricket Committee replacing Clare Connor who had served a maximum of three three-year terms. Whilst David White, CEO of New Zealand Cricket and John Stephenson, MCC both had their terms on the Men’s Cricket Committee.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here